Just another WordPress.com site

Shop Til You Drop

One of my favorite things about traveling is finding the souvenirs at the end of my trip.  Most of the trinkets I buy end up sitting on my shelf, but they remind me of all the places I’ve been.  Lately, I’ve been trying to buy items that can be used such as purses, shot glasses, clothing, bracelets, etc.  The best places to buy souvenirs are all of the outdoor markets that are set up everyday.  I find all the souvenirs that I buy for me and my friends and family.  They are usually inexpensive and authentic.  Here are some of Guatemala’s best markets for shopping.

  • Chichicastenango Market– This market is also referred to as Chichi and is the most famous one in Guatemala.  It is held only on Thursdays and Sundays.  This massive market occupies the entire town square and even reaches some side streets as well.  You could either stay in Chichicastenango overnight or make it a day trip from Guatemala City or Antigua.
  • Solola Market- The Solola market is held on Tuesdays and Fridays.  While you’re shopping, you can see the beautiful Lago Atitlan down below.  It is considered to be more authentic than Chichi and you can see the locals wearing their traditional Caqchikel Maya clothing.  There are fewer tourist-oriented souvenirs because this is still an important local market, but you will be able to find many interesting authentic items.
  • Antigua- Antigua is home to Nim P’ot, which is a huge indoor collective market that has a wide variety of souvenirs.  They have standard souvenir shirts and trinkets, grain sack bags, wood furniture, and a collection of Mayan textiles.
Leave a Reply

