Just another WordPress.com site

If you’re a college student like me then you probably do not have a lot of money to spend on travel opportunities. This year, I’ve made it my goal to cut my spending and start to save money for my trip to Europe next summer. It’s not so expensive once you’ve made it to your destination, but the airfare is the real killer. Try these tricks to save money for your next dream vacation.
Cook at home– I know it’s hard to muster up the energy to cook after working all day, but believe me it’ll save you a lot in the end. I spent way too much on eating out because I was too lazy or because it was a quicker alternative. Also, you are able to cook enough food to last you a few days so you just have to cook once and you’re set. In the end, cooking at home is cheaper and saves you time.
Make your own coffee– I’ve spent shameful amounts on coffee especially during finals week. I’d spend anywhere from $15-$25 a week just on coffee! Do yourself a favor and purchase a coffee maker. If you drink coffee everyday this is a huge investment.
Make a list before grocery shopping– Whenever I went grocery shopping, it seemed like I walked out with the entire store. I would mindlessly pick up items I didn’t need, but thought I might. I started making a list before shopping and it has helped me immensely with staying within my budget. I never spend more than $40-$50 a week on groceries and I rarely have to throw out food that’s gone bad.
Buy in bulk– Try to buy non-perishable products in bulk. Toothpaste, shampoos, body wash, etc. won’t go bad so buy these in bulk and you’ll have your own personal stock.
Bring your own bottled water– Purchase a plastic or aluminum reusable water bottle instead of buying bottled water. Carrying your own water is cheaper and better for the environment.
These money saving tips are good ways for you to cut back spending so you can finally take that vacation. It’s little lifestyle changes like this that will give you breathing room in your budget to travel. I’ve adopted these tips and can safely say that they have helped me tremendously with my finances. Try these out for yourself and see how they work for you.

Comments on: "Money Saving Tips to Help Your Travel Fund" (2)

  1. Nowadays, it’s always good to find news ways or be reminded of the many ways to save money. Thank you for your tips.

    Mercedes

    • Thank you for your comment Mercedes! I agree it’s always good to be reminded of ways to save money. It’s difficult for most to keep up with money saving habits so reminders are a good way to help us maintain that lifestyle.

      -Natasha

Leave a Reply

